Exhibitions and museum port

Gordon Rohde 27 Jan , 2021

Exhibitions and museum port

From manual manufacture in the 1890s to machine production. Marvel at all three eras of industrialization in the Brickworks Park. Exciting exhibitions at original sites on the topics of industrial culture and technology give an insight into the development of the brick industry in the region.

Zehdenicker brickyard - the largest in Europe

Can you imagine that this green landscape was once characterized by smoking chimneys, rattling light railways and steaming excavators?
In 1887 clay was "accidentally" found during the construction of a railway bridge. In just a few years, the region developed into the largest brickworks area in Europe. The various exhibitions in the brickworks park in the original buildings and factory halls tell the story from the early days of the 1890s to the closure of the last brickworks in 1990.

Exhibitions_Zehdenicker Ziegeleirevier_©justconnected

museum port

The expansion of the Havel waterway in the last century offered optimal conditions for the Zehdenick brickworks. Every brickworks had a works harbor or a sheet pile wall on the Havel. For more than a century, almost the entire brick production was transported by ship, which is why people still say “Berlin was built from a barge” to this day. The original Finow-Maßkahn is still in the museum harbor of the brickworks park and the museum ship Carola from Zehdenick is a prominent guest in Mildenberg during the "Märkisches Dampfspektakel" and "Fascination Technology".

Exhibitions_Museumshafen_©justconnected

Multimedia exhibitions in Ringofen III "Building Blocks for Berlin"

Follow the saying "Berlin is built from the barge". You can see two exhibitions here: In the former firing canal you can find out why it is said that Berlin was built from the barge and how hard the work at the brickworks was. Through old documents and state-of-the-art technology, you can experience the history of the Zehdenick brick and tile industry from 1890 to 1960 in fast motion.

Exhibitions_Ringofen III_©justconnected

Impressive exhibitions in Ringofen III on Friedrich Hoffmann

With the invention of the ring kiln, it was possible to continuously and en masse produce the building material for the up-and-coming Berlin. The exhibition can be found on the burner stage of the ring kiln III.

On the former burner stage, everything revolves around the life of the Berlin master builder Friedrich Hoffmann and his groundbreaking invention. In 1858 he applied for a patent for the "ring oven". This started the industrialization of brick production. Get a taste of this groundbreaking invention!

Exhibitions_Friedrich Hoffmann in the ring kiln III_©justconnected

Machine brick exhibition "Workers in the VEB"

In a multimedia production, experience how hard the work in the “state-owned enterprise” was in the days of the GDR.

There are also stories and anecdotes from former brick factory workers who leave lasting traces. In addition to sound and light installations, the tour of the exhibition offers a special highlight for young and old: Every visitor can walk through a firing channel of the ring kiln with a glowing brick in their hand. The color of the brick changes depending on the firing temperature.

Exhibitions_Ring Kiln II_©justconnected

CAUTION:

From Monday, August 22 to Friday, August 26, the Brennkanal and the surrounding area will be closed due to preparatory work for an internal celebration.

That means: In the exhibition "Workers in the VEB" it ends after the typesetter hall and it becomes a dead end. Please leave the exhibition as you came and follow the signs.

thank you for your understanding  

Popup blocking

Old workshops

Each brick factory had its own workshops for various tasks. Here, in the brick factory park, the "old workshops" consist of a blacksmith's shop, locksmith's shop and wheelwright's shop. What is special about the old workshops in the brickworks park is that almost all of the machines are driven by transmission. Thus, many machines could be driven by just one steam engine via belts and shafts.

Exhibitions_Old Workshops_©justconnected

Old processing

In the old processing facility, the clay was mixed with additives and formed into a homogeneous mass. Bricks could then be painted from this mass. With 12 clay cutters (as the machines that mixed in the aggregates were called), the present preparation was absolutely the largest in the region. In the brochure “Streifzüge – Gründerzeit. How a brick is made..." you will learn everything you need to know about brick production and thus also about the "old processing".

Exhibitions_Old processing_©justconnected

Brickworks in Stackebrandt

At the time, in 1927, the Stackebrandt brickworks was the most modern brickworks in the region. The complete production of bricks - all under one roof. Preparation of the clay, shaping of the blanks, thermal drying and firing in the ring kiln.

Everything is driven by the steam engine, which is still working today and which you can admire during the daily guided tours.

Exhibitions_Steam Engine_©justconnected

Ziegler barracks exhibition "on ziegelei"

During the boom, more than 5.000 people worked in the Zehdenick area. Migrant workers in particular represent the majority here. Find out more about the life of the brickmakers in this exhibition. Work isn't the only issue. The brickmakers could also celebrate, whether at the annual “Zieglerball” or in the old “Zieglerklause”. This exhibition is even located in a former brickwork barracks, where the workers used to live. In the exhibition "Zehdenicker Ziegeleirevier" the cultural history of the region is also vividly told.

Exhibitions_Zieglerkaserne_©ZP_Photographer Katja Zakrzewski

Photo exhibition by Anke Treichel

April 1st to September 09th, 2022
Ball mill gallery

SEEING ZEHDENICK – the past in the present

On the trail of cultural identity through the clay engraving landscape in Zehdenick

The exhibition is a photographic journey of discovery "with impressions and things seen" through the unique post-industrial and natural landscape in Zehdenick.
This is historically characterized by the brick industry and the resulting
Approx. 60 small water-filled clay pits, so-called clay engravings (small lakes).

The motifs of the exhibition show authentic places from different perspectives.
They are observations and snapshots, spontaneously recorded digitally. Color contrasts give them a creative, artistic means of expression that enhances perception and representation. They amaze the viewer what effect the "familiar environment" can have with a different perspective and makes VISIBLE what is perhaps no longer present.

Exhibitions_photo exhibition_©Anke Treichel

On the history of the cable car

From June 03rd to October 31st, 2022, the Mildenberg Brickworks Park is showing a special exhibition by the Dresden Transport Authority on the history of the cable car. The focus is on the company "Bleichert & Otto, Schkeuditz-Leipzig", which was founded in 1874. Co-owner Adolf Bleichert designed Germany's first cable car and subsequently developed numerous other technical innovations, including high-performance passenger cable cars, tow rope systems for skiers, cranes and conveyor systems.

Display boards on the historical development of these transport systems as well as two models will be presented. The exhibition will begin with a lecture by Mr. Ulrich Haag, curator at the Mining Museum in Příbram, Czech Republic, on Friday, June 03, at 16:00 p.m.

Ausstellungen und Museumshafen

Gordon Rohde 27 Jan , 2021

Ausstellungen und Museumshafen

Von der manuellen Fertigung in den 1890er Jahren bis zur maschinellen Produktion. Bestaunen Sie im Ziegeleipark alle drei Epochen der Industrialisierung. Spannende Ausstellungen an Originalstätten zu den Themen Industriekultur und Technik geben einen Einblick in die Entwicklung der Ziegelindustrie in der Region.

Zehdenicker Ziegeleirevier - das grösste Europas

Können Sie sich vorstellen, dass diese grüne Landschaft einst von rauchenden Schloten, ratternden Feldbahnen und dampfenden Baggern geprägt war?
1887 wurde beim Bau einer Eisenbahnbrücke „versehentlich“ Ton gefunden. In nur wenigen Jahren entwickelte sich die Region zum größten Ziegeleirevier Europas. Die verschiedenen Ausstellungen im Ziegeleipark in den original erhaltenen Gebäuden und Werkshallen erzählen die Geschichte von den Gründerzeiten der 1890er Jahre bis hin zur Schließung des letzten Ziegeleiwerks im Jahr 1990.

Ausstellungen_Zehdenicker Ziegeleirevier_©justconnected

Museumshafen

Der Ausbau der Havel-Wasserstraße im letzten Jahrhundert bot für die Zehdenicker Ziegeleien optimale Bedingungen. Jede Ziegelei besaß einen Werkshafen oder eine Spundwand an der Havel. Über ein Jahrhundert wurde fast die gesamte Ziegelproduktion per Schiff transportiert und deshalb sagt man heute noch „Berlin ist aus dem Kahn gebaut“. Im Museumshafen des Ziegeleiparks liegt heute noch der originale Finow-Maßkahn und das Museumsschiff Carola aus Zehdenick ist während des „Märkischen Dampfspektakels“ und zur „Faszination Technik“ ein prominenter Gast in Mildenberg.

Ausstellungen_Museumshafen_©justconnected

Multimediale Ausstellungen im Ringofen III "Bausteine für Berlin"

Gehen Sie dem Sprichwort „Berlin ist aus dem Kahn erbaut“ auf die Spur. Gleich zwei Ausstellung bekommt man hier zu sehen: Im ehemaligen Brennkanal erfahren Sie warum man sagt, dass Berlin aus dem Kahn erbaut wurde und wie hart die Arbeit auf Ziegelei war. Durch alte Dokumente und modernste Technik erleben Sie die Geschichte der Zehdenicker Ziegelindustrie von 1890 bis 1960 im Zeitraffer.

Ausstellungen_Ringofen III_©justconnected

Eindrucksvolle Ausstellungen im Ringofen III zu Friedrich Hoffmann

Mit der Erfindung des Ringofens war es möglich, das Baumaterial für das aufstrebende Berlin massenhaft und kontinuierlich zu produzieren. Die Ausstellung finden Sie auf der Brennerbühne des Ringofen III.

Auf der ehemaligen Brennerbühne dreht sich alles rund um das Leben des Berliner Baumeisters Friedrich Hoffmann und seine bahnbrechende Erfindung. 1858 meldete er das Patent für den „Ringofen“ an. Damit begann die Industrialisierung der Ziegelherstellung. Verschaffen Sie sich einen Eindruck von dieser bahnbrechenden Erfindung!

Ausstellungen_Friedrich Hoffmann im Ringofen III_©justconnected

Maschinenziegelei Ausstellung "Werktätige im VEB"

Erleben Sie in einer multimedialen Inszenierung, wie hart die Arbeit im „Volkseigenen Betrieb“ zu Zeiten der DDR war.

Dazu kommen Geschichten und Anekdoten von ehemaligen Ziegeleiarbeitern, die bleibende Spuren hinterlassen. Neben Ton- und Lichtinstallationen bietet der Rundgang durch die Ausstellung ein besonderes Highlight für Jung und Alt: Jeder Besucher kann mit einem leuchtenden Ziegel in der Hand durch einen Brennkanal des Ringofens wandern, dabei ändert sich je nach Brenntemperatur die Farbe des Ziegels.

Ausstellungen_Ringofen II_©justconnected

ACHTUNG

Von Montag, den 22. August bis Freitag, den 26. August ist aufgrund von Vorbereitungsarbeiten für eine interne Festveranstaltung der Brennkanal und das umliegende Areal gesperrt.

Das heißt: In der Ausstellung „Werktätige im VEB“ ist nach der Setzerhalle erstmal Schluss und sie wird zur Sackgasse. Sie verlassen die Ausstellung dann bitte einfach wie Sie gekommen sind und folgen den Ausschilderungen.

Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis  

Popup Sperrung

Alte Werkstätten

Typisch für jede Ziegelei waren eigene Werkstätten für diverse Aufgaben. Hier, im Ziegeleipark, bestehen die „Alten Werkstätten“ aus Schmiede, Schlosserei und Stellmacherei. Das Besondere an den Alten Werkstätten im Ziegeleipark ist der Antrieb fast aller Maschinen über Transmission. Somit konnten viele Maschinen durch nur eine Dampfmaschine über Riemen und Wellen angetrieben werden.

Ausstellungen_Alte Werkstätten_©justconnected

Alte Aufbereitung

In der Alten Aufbereitung wurde der Ton mit Zuschlagstoffen vermengt und zu einer homogenen Masse geformt. So konnten im Anschluss aus dieser Masse Ziegel gestrichen werden. Die vorliegende Aufbereitung war mit 12 Tonschneidern (so wurden die Maschinen, welche die Zuschlagstoffe untermengten, genannt) die absolut größte der Region. In der Broschüre „Streifzüge – Gründerzeiten. Wie ein Ziegelstein entsteht…“ erfahren Sie alles Wissenswerte über die Ziegelherstellung und so auch über die „Alte Aufbereitung“.

Ausstellungen_Alte Aufbereitung_©justconnected

Ziegelei Stackebrandt

Die Ziegelei Stackebrandt war zu ihrer Zeit im Jahr 1927 die modernste Ziegelei der Region. Die komplette Produktion der Ziegel – alles unter einem Dach. Aufbereitung des Tons, die Formung der Rohlinge, die thermische Trocknung und der Brand im Ringofen.

Alles angetrieben durch die heute immer noch funktionstüchtige Dampfmaschine, die ihr bei den täglichen Führungen bewundern könnt.

Ausstellungen_Dampfmaschine_©justconnected

Zieglerkaserne Ausstellung "auf ziegelei"

Zu Boomzeiten arbeiteten mehr als 5.000 Menschen im Zehdenicker Revier. Insbesondere Wanderarbeiter vertreten hier die Mehrheit. Erfahren Sie mehr über das Leben der Ziegler in dieser Ausstellung. Thema ist nicht nur die Arbeit. Auch Feiern konnten die Ziegler, egal ob beim jährlichen „Zieglerball“ oder in der alten „Zieglerklause“. Diese Ausstellung befindet sich sogar in einer ehemaligen Zieglerkaserne, der früheren Unterkunft der Arbeiter. In der Ausstellung „Zehdenicker Ziegeleirevier“ wird zusätzlich die Kulturgeschichte der Region anschaulich erzählt.

Ausstellungen_Zieglerkaserne_©ZP_Fotografin Katja Zakrzewski

Fotoausstellung von Anke Treichel

1. April bis 09. September 2022
Galerie Kugelmühle

ZEHDENICK SEHEN – Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart

Auf den Spuren der kulturellen Identität durch die Tonstichlandschaft in Zehdenick

Die Ausstellung ist eine fotografische Entdeckungsreise „mit Eindrücken und Gesehenem“ durch die einzigartige Industriefolge- und Naturlandschaft in Zehdenick.
Diese ist geschichtlich geprägt durch die Ziegel-Industrie und den daraus entstandenen
ca. 60 kleinen wassergefüllten Tongruben, sogenannte Tonstiche (kleine Seen).

Die Bildmotive der Ausstellung zeigen authentische Orte aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln.
Es sind Beobachtungen und Momentaufnahmen, spontan digital aufgenommen. Durch farbliche Kontraste erhalten sie eine kreative, künstlerische Ausdrucksmöglichkeit, die die Wahrnehmung und Darstellung verstärkt. Sie lassen den Betrachter erstaunen, welche Wirkung die „vertraute Umwelt“ mit einer anderen Sichtweise entfalten kann und macht SICHTBAR, was vielleicht nicht mehr präsent ist.

Ausstellungen_Fotoausstellung_©Anke Treichel

Zur Geschichte der Seilbahn

Der Ziegeleipark Mildenberg zeigt vom 03. Juni bis 31. Oktober 2022 eine Sonderausstellung der Dresdner Verkehrsbetriebe zur Geschichte der Seilbahn. Im Fokus steht dabei die im Jahre 1874 gegründete Firma „Bleichert & Otto, Schkeuditz-Leipzig“. Mitinhaber Adolf Bleichert konstruierte die erste Drahtbahn Deutschlands und entwickelte in der Folge zahlreiche weitere technische Innovationen, darunter leistungsfähige Personen-Seilschwebebahnen, Schleppseilanlagen für Skifahrer, Kräne und Förderanlagen.

Präsentiert werden Schautafeln zur historischen Entwicklung dieser Transportanlagen sowie zwei Modelle. Den Auftakt der Ausstellung bildet ein Vortrag von Herrn Ulrich Haag, Kurator am Bergbaumuseum in Příbram, Tschechien, am Freitag, den 03. Juni, um 16:00 Uhr.